Do you have a comment or suggestion to improve SQL Server? We’d love to hear it!

SSMS2018 - Installed, but will not run

Original post is here, with additional customer failure report: https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/sqlserver/en-US/76236e43-dc82-4586-bf7f-b01ff6374462/ssms2018-installed-but-will-not-run?forum=sqltools

Windows 2016 Standard Edition. Brand new Hyper-V image. No prior SSMS on the server. Freshly installed SQL 2014, 16, and 17, Standard and Enterprise as 6 named instances. Restarted multiple times. Repaired the SSMS install. Restarted. I chose to install in a named folder: C:\Program Files (x86)\SSMS18 ..\Common7\ Size on disk: (1,090,367,488 bytes)

All that shows is the splash screen, then nothing. Run as administrator - I am a Local Admin - nothing.

Event Viewer - Nothing.

Uninstalled. Reboot. Reinstalled to default location.

WORKS FOR ME, but NOBODY ELSE on the same Server. Appears to occur when SSMS 2018 is installed after SQL on the DB Server itself.

There is no solution as of 2019-04-29, but the "useless when 2019 goes RTM" workaround is to install 17.9.1, which one ought not to have to do.

Please fix this bug.

22 votes
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Microsoft
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

SAinCA Mi9 shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

29 comments

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Microsoft
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • Mohamedi Juma commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Solved by following process done by spudhead

Success with earlier described fix by copying existing file "Microsoft.VisualStudio.Shell.Interop.8.0.dll"
    from :\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio 18\Common7\IDE\PrivateAssemblies\Interop\

to: :\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio 18\Common7\IDE\PrivateAssemblies\

• Matt commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate